• Sunrise view of ESU #1 Central Office in Wakefield
    ESU #1 Central Office

Mission: Providing Innovation, Leadership and Service

Educational Service Unit #1 proudly serves children in school districts in Cedar, Dakota, Dixon, Knox, Thurston and Wayne counties in northeast Nebraska.

ESU #1 is headquartered in Wakefield and provides a wide range of services to 23 school districts, including professional development, digital learning and internet services, and student support for individuals with special needs.

Educational Service Units were created by the Nebraska Unicameral in 1965. The purpose of the ESU is to provide services that individual school districts cannot economically or efficiently provide for themselves.

Vision: ESU #1 will model excellence by helping schools increase educators effectiveness and student learning as a result of expert services.

What's new with ESU #1

ESU1 Speech/Language Pathologists work with other specialists to provide: assessment and intervention to students from birth to 21 years of age; and services in areas that adversely affect students’ education, such as articulation, language, phonology, apraxia, voice, fluency, literacy readiness, hearing, social skills, autism and traumatic brain injuries. ... See MoreSee Less
View on Facebook
By developing a partnership with each of our member districts, ESU1 provides the educational programming and services necessary for area school districts to reach their goals of improving student learning and enhancing the capacity and skills of their staff. ... See MoreSee Less
View on Facebook